The Fault in Our Stars by John Green (Review)

tumblr_ltboy5Tgo61qjhzvpo1_500

This book almost had me in tears. And i say almost in a good way, because I never cry during books. I think i was done with this book in a day. Yup. One day was all it took for me to plow through it. It is by far, my favorite John Green book. With a whopping score of 4.5 on goodreads and the award of goodreads choice book of 2012 i think that it deserves a review on my blog. Also, Since the movie is coming out this summer, and a lot of people are reading it now, I thought that my opinion must be shared.

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

sPoiLeRs AhEAd!!!!

This book is the perfect combination of funny, sad, and make you want to kill yourself out of envy. It starts out with Hazel. A 17 year old girl who is diagnosed with lung cancer. She’s a snarky character which makes her OH-SO much more likable. At least to me. So we meet Hazel. Hazel thinks her mother thinks Hazel is depressed and so instead of letting her stay home all day. So Hazel’s mom makes her go to this Cancer Support Group that she thinks is supposed to help her cope. And all is good and well until the day comes when Hazels “friend” Isaac, who is also in this support group decides to bring a friend over. This friend. This friend, ladies and gentlemen is the utterly perfect, Augustus Waters. So Gus goes into this support group one day and Hazel meets him and they get talking. Augustus used to have cancer and he lost his leg to it. But now he is in remission and doing just fine. And she thinks he’s SOOO perfect. And then she decides that he might actually be an awesome friend until he pulls out a packet of cigarettes. I loved her little rant that she did here. It was the most beautiful thing that I have every read and it made me laugh like there was no tomorrow. the part where she says “even though you HAD FREAKING CANCER you give money to a company in exchange for the chance to acquire YET MORE CANCER.” it was beautiful. But then he explains how its a metaphor and how he doesn’t actually light the cigarette or smoke. But then Hazel and Augustus become friends. And they have the most fun. I loved when they were recommending each other books and she told him about An Imperial Affliction, and he calls her and just starts yelling “TELL ME THIS ISNT HOW THE BOOK ENDS!!” Oh Gus. I love you so… I also really enjoyed the part when Gus and Hazel are talking about their Wishes, because they both got a wish from the Make-a-Wish foundation and Gus is dumbfounded that Hazel used her wish on something so ordinary as Disneyland. And then he decides to use his wish on her and I was all “AWWWWWWW!!!” And then i died of cuteness overload. Also I loved the part when they are in Amsterdam and they have that amazing date night and the sheer to-die-for-romance-level that it contained. And how the next morning she drew him the ven-diagram! #dying! Can we just talk about how Peter Van Houten is the most horrible person ever to set foot on this planet we call Earth. I mean, when she was writing the letters i was all “Aww! Peter Van Houten! How sweet and thoughtful! I like you!” but then we meet him and he turns out to be a real… umm… umm…. okay! There is no nice way to put this! Peter Van Houten is a dick!  Even though this is a school project, other words are not sufficiently passionate or explanatory enough to describe Peter Van Houten! Hazel was so exited to meet him and then they show up at his door step and he shoo’s them away! No! NO! The HUMANITY!! The rest of the book just made me want to curl up in a ball and die in a corner. At first you think she’s gonna die, and then it turns out his cancer has returned and that he knew he had it almost the whole time and! OMIGOD DEM FEELS!!!! I can’t even explain how my eyes were almost producing liquid but i had to focus on the words in front of me so i could find out what was going to happen next! When he was in the car and she came and saved him and he was all *blarg* and threw up! No! No! No! NO! I cannot write without the memories coming back! I CANNOT! I really hope you enjoyed the book, and sorry for a rather short review but feelings are not something that I want to escape their prison while I am sitting at my computer. I have no intent of starting to cry and then my father running in and wondering if something tragic has happened and then I will have to explain to him that, No, nothing tragic has happened but that due to school, i had to recall the most emotional book i ever read and relive the eye watering scenes that were The Fault in Our Stars. Definitely a 5 stars! And it goes on the Ultimate bookshelf! Well done John Green.

Karin

Leave a Reply

